Dilshan powers Lanka to victory in tour match

Published: Wednesday, January 30, 2008, 12:47 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Canberra: Sri Lanka kicked off their limited overs tour of Australia in good style, beating the Prime Minister's XI by four wickets here.

Some quality fast bowling by the tourists helped them dismiss the PM's XI, which featured some of Australia's best young players, for just 152 after they won the toss and elected to bat.

Despite a few hiccups in the chase, an unbeaten half-century by Tillakaratne Dilshan then saw the Sri Lankans home with more than 18 overs to spare.

The PM's XI started strongly with the bat, but then crumbled to the Sri Lankan pace attack.

West Australian openers Luke Ronchi (24) and Shaun Marsh carried the score to 49 in the 10th over, but the innings turned when the latter fell for 25.

Ishara Amerasinghe was brought into the attack and claimed Marsh with his fourth ball, caught by Mahela Jayawardene at second slip when he chased a wide delivery.

The PM's XI then collapsed, losing 8-66 to slump to 115 for eight, before a 33-run stand between tailenders Ashley Noffke (30) and Doug Bollinger (11) added some respectability.

The only other batsman to reach double figures was David Hussey, who made 23 on the day he was called into the Australian Twenty20 squad.

All the Sri Lankan fast bowlers enjoyed success, Lasith Malinga earning man-of-the-match honours with 3-33.

Farveez Maharoof claimed 3-37, Amerasinghe 2-27 and veteran Chaminda Vaas 1-34 in pleasing performances ahead of their opening tri-series clash with India in Brisbane on Tuesday.

Dilshan then held the chase together with 74 not out, from 83 balls and including eight fours and one six.

On his last tour of Australia, Sanath Jayasuriya chipped in with 43 from 48 balls, putting on 56 for the second wicket with Dilshan.

Star wicketkeeper-batsman Kumar Sangakkara made just one, as did Jayawardene.

Sri Lanka did look in some danger at 134 for six, but Dilshan and Maharoof saw them safely home.

Australian fast bowling hopeful Ben Hilfenhaus was the pick of the PM's XI bowlers, with 2-39, spinner Cameron White also picking up 2-24.

Write Comments