Zimbabwe elect to bat in fourth one-dayer

Published: Wednesday, January 30, 2008, 12:52 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Faisalabad: Zimbabwe's stand-in captain Hamilton Masakadza won the toss and opted to bat in the fourth day-night international against Pakistan at the Iqbal Stadium here.

The tourists, already without captain Prosper Utseya who failed to recover from an ankle injury for second match in a row, received a further blow when their paceman Tawanda Mupariwa sprained his ankle during practice on Tuesday.

Chris Mpofu replaced Mupariwa in the only change in the tourists' line-up.

Pakistan, leading 3-0 in the five-match series, made four changes from the side that won the third match by 37 runs at Multan on Sunday.

Opener Salman Butt, wicket-keeper Kamran Akmal, Younis Khan and Yasir Arafat made way for Khalid Latif, Sarfraz Ahmed, Fawad Alam and Sohail Khan as the home team attempted to try out more youngsters.

Pakistan: Shoaib Malik (capt), Khalid Latif, Nasir Jamshed, Mohammad Yousuf, Misbah-ul Haq, Shahid Afridi, Fawad Alam, Sarfraz Ahmed, Sohail Tanvir, Sohail Khan, Kamran Hussain

Zimbabwe: Hamilton Masakadza (capt), Chamu Chibhabha, Elton Chigumbura, Gary Brent, Ray Price, Vusi Sibanda, Tatenda Taibu, Brendon Taylor, Sean Williams, Keith Dabengwa, Chris Mpofu

Umpires: Asoka de Silva (SRI), Aleem Dar (PAK)

TV umpire: Zameer Haider (PAK)

Match referee: Chris Broad (ENG)

Write Comments