India opt to bat in T20 against Australia

Published: Friday, February 1, 2008, 3:35 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Bangalore: India skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni won the toss and elected to bat in the one-off Twenty20 tie against Australia at MCG, Melbourne on Friday.

World Champions have left out Sachin Tendulkar, Suresh Raina, Piyush Chawla and the injured Yuvraj from the squad.

Australia skipper Ricky Ponting is out of tonight clash due to back injury. Right-arm seamer Ben Helfenhaus will sit out.

Michael Clarke will captain the side in Ponting's absence. Victorians Brad Hodge and David Hussey have both been selected to play, with Hussey to represent Australia for the first time.

David Hussey will also play alongside his brother, Mike, and the pair will be the first brothers to play together for Australia since Steve and Mark Waugh six years ago. Hodge will bat at No. 3.

India will be aiming to keep its winning streak intact against Test championswhile Australia having been knocked out of the Twenty20 World Cup and been on the losing end of their only other 20-over clash, has a score to settle tonight.


India: Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Dinesh Karthik, Rohit Sharma, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (capt, wk), Robin Uthappa, Irfan Pathan, Praveen Kumar, Harbhajan Singh, Sreesanth and Ishant Sharma.

Australia: Michael Clarke (capt), Adam Gilchrist (wk), Brad Hodge, David Hussey, Andrew Symonds, Mike Hussey, James Hopes, Adam Voges Brett Lee, Ashley Noffke and Nathan Bracken.


Write Comments