India win toss, elect to bat

Published: Sunday, February 3, 2008, 3:35 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Bangalore: India captain MS Dhoni has won the toss and decided to bat in the opening one-day against Australia at Gabba.

India have made six changes to the side that was humiliated by Australia in the Twenty20 international at the MCG on Friday night.

Veteran batsman Sachin Tendulkar returns to the opening spot while Manoj Tiwary makes his one-day debut for the Indians.

For Australia opening batsman Matthew Hayden has been ruled out, unabale to recover from the a niggling hamstring injury and is replaced by James Hopes at the top of the order. Ashley Noffke is also making his one-day debut in Australian team.

Early rain in Brisbane did not delay the start of the match, with the overcast and humid conditions looking to favour the swing bowlers.

The tri-series, with Sri Lanka as the third team, would stretch into the March with three possible finals. Each team plays each other four times, meaning eight matches apiece in the group stage, a total of 12 round.


India: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (capt), Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag, G. Gambhir, Robin Uthappa, Irfan Pathan, Harbhajan Singh, Ishant Sharma, Sreesanth, Rohit Sharma, Manoj Tiwary.

Australia : Ricky Ponting (capt), Adam Gilchrist (wk), Michael Clarke, Andrew Symonds, Michael Hussey, Brad Haddin, James Hopes, Brett Lee, Ashley Noffke, MG Johnson, NW Bracken.


Write Comments