India opt to bat against Lanka at Gabba

Published: Tuesday, February 5, 2008, 8:58 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Brisbane: Indian captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni won the toss and chose to bat in the second match of the triangular one-day cricket series against Sri Lanka at the Gabba here Tuesday.

The first match in the series between Australia and India here on Sunday was washed out and rain is again threatening to disrupt this match.

Conditions are hot and humid with dark clouds overhead, making Dhoni's decision to bat a slight gamble.

India have made only one change from Sunday's team, bringing in big hitting Yuvraj Singh in place of youngster Manoj Tiwari.

Sri Lanka have chosen a largely predictable team, with the only surprise being the inclusion of fast bowler Ishara Amarasinghe for just his second one-day international.

As expected, opener Sanath Jayasuriya will play for the Sri Lankans after being cleared of any serious damage from being hit in the head while batting during a tour match against Tasmania in Hobart.


India: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Virender Sehwag, Sachin Tendulkar, Gautam Gambhir, Yuvraj Singh, Rohit Sharma, Robin Uthappa, Irfan Pathan, Harbhajan Singh, Shanthakumaran Sreesanth and Ishant Sharma. Suresh Raina (12th man)

Sri Lanka: Mahela Jayawardene (captain), Upul Tharanga, Sanath Jayasuriya, Kumar Sangakkara, Chamara Silva, Tillekeratne Dilshan, Chamara Kapugedera, Chaminda Vaas, Lasith Malinga, Muttiah Muralitharan and Ishara Amarasinghe. Dilruwan Perera (12th man)

Match Officials: Umpires: Steve Davis (AUS), Rudi Koertzen (RSA) Third umpire: Bruce Oxenford (AUS)Match referee: Jeff Crowe (NZL).


Write Comments