Mahela sends India in to bat in 29-over tie

Published: Tuesday, February 12, 2008, 3:35 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Bangalore: Sri Lanka skipper Mahela Jayawardene won the toss and elected to field against India in a rain-shortened 29-over CB tri-series tie at Manuka Oval, Canberra on Tuesday.

India fielded a uncahnged squad that registered a facile win against Australia at MCG on Sundaywhile Lanka picked seamers Kulasekara and Maharoof in place of Upal Tharanga and Ishara Amarasinghe.

Early-morning thunderstorms in Canberra have delayed the scheduled start by three hours. The must-win tie for Lankans was reduced to a 29-over affair with six mandatory overs of power play. Second power play will be of three overs while the third is of two overs.

Four bowlers can bowl a max of six overs while one will get a max of five overs to bowl.


Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Yuvraj Singh, Robin Uthappa, Rohit Sharma, Irfan Pathan, Harbhajan Singh, Shantha Sreesanth, Ishant Sharma.

Upal Tharanga, Sanath Jayasuriya, Kumara Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene, Farvez Maharoof, Chamara Silva, Kapugedera, Chaminda Vaas, Lasith Malinga, Kulasekara and M Muralitharan.


Write Comments