Australia win the toss and elect to bat

Published: Friday, February 15, 2008, 3:35 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Perth: Australia captain Ricky Ponting won the toss and elected to bat first in Friday's tri-series one-day international against Sri Lanka at the WACA in Perth.

Gilchrist was given a rousing reception as he and Matthew Hayden strode out into the middle for his final international innings on his home turf.

Sri Lanka retained the same lineup that beat India by eight wickets in Canberra on Tuesday while Australia made two changes to the side that lost to the Indians by five wickets in Melbourne on Sunday.

All-rounders James Hopes and Brad Hogg were recalled to the Australia team for paceman Stuart Clark and wicketkeeper-batsman Brad Haddin

The weather has really played spoilsport in the series so far with two matches being abandoned and one affected by rain but the met office has predicted a sunny day on Friday, providing the perfect setting for what promises to be an absorbing contest between two talented teams.

The Indians are currently on top of the points table with eight points from four matches while Australia were just one point behind them from three matches. Sri Lanka are at the bottom of the table with seven points from three games.

As per the tournament format, all the three teams will play against each other four times before the two top teams qualify for the best-of-three finals.


Australia: Ricky Ponting (captain), Adam Gilchrist (wk), Matthew Hayden, Michael Clarke, Mike Hussey, James Hopes, Andrew Symonds, Brad Hogg, Brett Lee, Mitchell Johnson and Nathan Bracken.

Sri Lanka: Mahela Jayawardene (captain), Sanath Jayasuriya, Kumara Sangakkara (wk), Chamara Silva, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Chamara Kapugedera, Chaminda Vaas, Lasith Malinga, Muttiah Muralitharan, Nuwan Kulasekera and Farveez Maharoof.


Write Comments