Bangladesh choose to bat in first South Africa test

Published: Friday, February 22, 2008, 11:17 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Bangladesh captain Mohammad Ashraful won the toss and elected to bat in the first Test against South Africa at the Sher-e-Bangla Mirpur stadium here on Friday.

Left-handed opener Tamim Iqbal, who missed Bangladesh's warm-up game against the visitors due to a thumb injury, returned to the side after passing a fitness test.

However there was no such luck for South African paceman Andre Nel who was left out of the playing eleven after failing to recover fully from a hamstring strain.

South Africa opted to go into the match with just one spinner in Johan Botha while the hosts also picked a lone specialist slow bowler in Mohammad Rafique, set to retire after this two-Test series.

The second Test begins in Chittagong on February 29.

Bangladesh: Mohammad Ashraful (captain), Mashrafe Mortaza, Aftab Ahmed, Habibul Bashar, Junaid Siddique, Mohammad Rafique, Mushfiqur Rahim, Shahadat Hossain, Shahriar Nafees, Shakib Al Hasan, Tamim Iqbal.

South Africa: Graeme Smith (captain), Ashwell Prince, Hashim Amla, Johan Botha, Mark Boucher, A.B. de Villiers, Neil Mckenzie, Jacques Kallis, Morne Morkel, Makhaya Ntini, Dale Steyn.

Umpires: Steve Bucknor (WIS) and Aleem Dar (PAK)

TV Umpire: ASM Akhtaruddin (BAN)

Match referee: Ranjan Madugalle (SRI).

Write Comments