Lanka opt to field in must-win tie against Australia

Published: Friday, February 22, 2008, 3:35 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Melbourne: Sri Lanka captain Mahela Jayawardene won the toss and elected to field in the CB tri-series tie against Australia at MCG here on Friday.

Lanka made one change to the squad that lost against India last Tuesday with Kapugedara making way for rookie batsman Dilruwan Perera while Australia continue to field line-up sans their ace pacer Brett Lee.

Lankans have to win this tie to stay alive in the tri-series.


Australia: Ricky Ponting (captain), Adam Gilchrist, Matthew Hayden, Michael Clarke, Mike Hussey, James Hopes, Andrew Symonds, Brad Hogg, Mitchell Johnson, Nathan Bracken and Stuart Clark.

Sri Lanka: Mahela Jayawardene (captain), Dilruwan Perera, Sanath Jayasuriya, Chamara Silva, Kumar Sangakkara, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Farveez Maharoof, Chaminda Vaas, Lasith Malinga, Ishara Amerasinghe and Muttiah Muralitharan.


Write Comments