Sydney: Indian captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni has avoided a penalty for using illegal wicketkeeping gloves during Sunday's narrow 18-run tri-series loss to Australia.
Dhoni has agreed not to use the gloves again after they were found to have illegally large webbing.
Former Australian wicketkeeper turned television commentator Ian Healy sparked the investigation into Dhoni's gloves after the Indian skipper pulled off a stunning diving catch to remove Adam Gilchrist.
The ball lodged in the webbing of Dhoni's gloves and Healy claimed that the webbing was illegal because it was too big.
International Cricket Council (ICC) match referee Jeff Crowe informed the Indian camp of the concerns and Dhoni switched gloves during the Australian innings.
Crowe confiscated one glove for further investigation and it was inspected after the match by the referee, the two field umpires, Daryl Harper and Tony Hill, and third umpire Bruce Oxenford.
They found the gloves had illegal extra webbing between the thumb and forefinger.
Dhoni claimed to have used the same gloves during the recent Test series and Crowe said he would face a penalty if he used them again.
"After I raised my concern in the India dressing room, Dhoni immediately changed his gloves on the advice of the India team management which was a reasonable thing to do," he said.
"These gloves were then inspected after the match by the third umpire, myself and later by the two on-field umpires.
"The three umpires ruled that the gloves were in breach of laws of cricket.
"Dhoni has not been penalised on this occasion but he has been advised that if he uses the gloves again before they have been modified, inspected and cleared, he could be charged for a breach of Clause C1 of the Code of Conduct."