Melbourne: Australian wicketkeeper Adam Gilchrist has played down the furore over Indian counterpart Mahendra Singh Dhoni's illegal gloves.
The Indian skipper was forced to change his gloves during the Australian innings in the home side's win over India at the SCG on Sunday.
Former Australian wicketkeeper turned television commentator Ian Healy sparked an investigation after Dhoni pulled off a stunning diving catch to remove Gilchrist.
The ball lodged in the webbing of the gloves. Healy said the webbing was illegal because it was too big.
International Cricket Council (ICC) match referee Jeff Crowe informed the Indian camp of the concerns and Dhoni switched gloves.
Crowe confiscated one of Dhoni's gloves and confirmed it was illegal, warning the Indian player he faced a penalty if he used them again.
The Indian manufacturer of the gloves on Wednesday claimed there was nothing wrong with the gloves and said Gilchrist used the same type.
Gilchrist said here Thursday his gloves were legal and added that he had them checked regularly.
He said Dhoni could have been caught by manufacturer error.
"Well, they're illegal -- the match referee said that," Gilchrist said. "That's not sour grapes from me, the match referee said they're illegal."
"I do know that the guy who makes those gloves makes my gloves as well and I've had match referees check my gloves and they're fine," he added.
"Not for a moment am I insinuating Dhoni intentionally wore them out there -- whether it's a manufacturing error, I'm not sure."
Gilchrist said wearing illegal gloves would have been an easy mistake for Dhoni to make.
"You get your gear, we're spoilt for choice, we just get gear, you just put it on, you train in it," he said.
Gilchrist conceded it was unlikely the problem would have come to light had Dhoni not taken that catch.
"He was just too good for himself, Dhoni. He took too good a catch and exposed it, I suppose, the fact that there was a little discrepancy there," he said.