Lahore Badshahs to represent Pakistan in ICL 20s

Published: Friday, February 29, 2008, 3:35 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

New Delhi: The Indian Cricket League (ICL) today announced the 'ICL 20s Grand Championship' which will be held from March 9 to April 7.

The tournament, to be held in Hyderabad, Chandigarh (Panchkula) and Gurgaon, will feature eight teams - Chennai Superstars, Delhi Jets, Mumbai Champs, Hyderabad Heroes, Kolkata Tigers, Chandigarh Lions, Ahmedabad Rockets and Lahore Badshahs.

''Our first two tournaments have produced some high quality cricket. We are delighted to have added a new impressive player base which includes some quality fast bowlers, crafty spinners and explosive batsmen,'' ICL Executive Board Chairman Kapil Dev said. ''Their participation in the league will provide the younger generation of cricketers valuable insights which will help them with their game.

''Personally, I am happy to see Pakistan being represented by the Lahore Badshahs. We all have some great cricketing moments playing with them and I would like to see history repeat itself in the ICL.'' The championship will have a total of 34 matches. Each team will play against each other once in the league format, which will be followed by the semi-finals, third position classification match and the best of three finals.


Write Comments