South Africa to bat first against Bangladesh

Published: Friday, February 29, 2008, 10:58 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

South African captain Graeme Smith won the toss and elected to bat in the second and final Test against Bangladesh at the Chittagong Divisional stadium here on Friday.

South Africa made one change from the side that won the opener in Dhaka by five wickets, bringing in left-arm spinner Robin Peterson for off-spinner Johan Botha.

Bangladesh decided to go into the must-win game with an extra bowler, bringing in spinner Abdur Razzaq in place of veteran batsman Habibul Bashar.

Smith, who made his debut as Test skipper in this port city in 2003, will lead his side in a national record 54th Test.

The hosts, who have won just one of their 52 Tests, drew their last match here against India.

The Test will be followed by three one-dayers with the first beginning here on March 9.

Bangladesh: Mohammad Ashraful (captain), Mashrafe Mortaza, Aftab Ahmed, Junaid Siddique, Mohammad Rafique, Mushfiqur Rahim, Shahadat Hossain, Shahriar Nafees, Shakib Al Hasan, Tamim Iqbal, Abdur Razzaq.

South Africa: Graeme Smith (captain), Ashwell Prince, Hashim Amla, Robin Peterson, Mark Boucher, A.B. de Villiers, Neil McKenzie, Jacques Kallis, Morne Morkel, Makhaya Ntini, Dale Steyn.

Umpires: Aleem Dar (PAK), Steve Bucknor (WIS)

TV Umpire: Nadir Shah (BAN)

Match referee: Ranjan Madugalle (SRI)

Read more about: africa, bat, bangladesh
Write Comments