IPL: 25 players to be auctioned on Tuesday

Published: Monday, March 10, 2008, 3:35 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

New Delhi: Pakistan's T20 World Cup star Misbah-ul-Haq, Aussie all-rounder Shane Watson and Bangladesh skipper Mohammed Ashraful are among 25 players included in the second Indian Premier League (IPL) players' auction to be held in Mumbai on March 11.

The list includes seven New Zealanders, seven Australians, six Pakistanis, three from Bangladesh, two from South Africa and and one from Sri Lanka.

Pakistan's Mohammed Yousuf and South Africa's Ashwell Prince, who were dumped by franchise owners at the Indian Premier League (IPL) auction last month will also be auctioned on Tuesday.

"There are 13 other foreign players who have shown keen interest to play in the first season," a top BCCI was quoted as saying by IANS.

The list includes the cricketers who are already contracted by IPL, an extension of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), and would be playing in the maiden edition of the lucrative Twenty20 tournament starting April 18.

As per the IPL rules, the team owners are free to buy more foreign players from outside the list of 18. But the teams will have to inform the IPL about the players they are targeting and the organisers will then negotiate their base price and try to secure the no-objection certificates (NOCs) from their home boards.

The team owners, who were asked to spend between $3.3 million and $5 million at the first auction in Mumbai Feb 20, have varying amounts left in their kitty, which necessitated a second auction.

The amounts left are: $374,000 with Bangalore, $23,750 with Chennai, $71,250 with Delhi, $262,500 with Hyderabad, $1,700,000 with Jaipur, $107,500 with Kolkata, $292,250 with Mohali and $53,750 with Mumbai.

"However, if a team overspends $5 million on players who were initially not available but become available later, the excess expenditure will be ignored. Also, player fees for Indian players who were not in the auction do not count against the $5m purse," said the official.

"There will be no more auctions this season," the official added.

Each team can have a minimum of 16 players, including a maximum of eight currently available foreigners but not more than four in the playing XI. Those foreign players who are not available will not count towards the total.

The minimum of four under-22 players to be selected for the squad, will be taken from catchments areas and include U-19, Ranji Trophy and national players. They should be under 22 years of age as on April 1 of the applicable season.

The minimum fee for Ranji Trophy and non-auction players has been fixed at $50,000 per season while under-22 players will receive $20,000 for the same period.

All players must submit the NOCs at least 30 days before the start of every season, with the exception for the Australian players.

All team owners have to finalise their squads by 30 days before the start of the 2008 season, which is March 19.

Players for second auction:

Pakistan: Misbah-ul Haq, Salman Butt, Mohammad Yousuf, Yasir Hameed, Mohammad Haneef, Sohail Tanvir

New Zealand: Kyle Mills, Jeetan Patel, James Franklin, Chris Martin, Ross Taylor, Peter Fulton, Jamie How

Australia: Brad Hodge, Shane Watson, James Hopes, Phil Jacques, Brett Geeves, Luke Pomerbach

South Africa: Morne Morkel, Ashwell Prince

Sri Lanka: Prasanna Jayawardena

Bangladesh: Mohammad Ashraful, Mashrafe Mortaza, Abdur Razzak.


Write Comments