Central crush West Zone in Deodhar opener

Published: Friday, March 14, 2008, 3:35 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Bangalore: Central Zone registered a six-wicket victory against West Zone in the Prof D B Deodhar trophy cricket tournament here today.

Central Zone reached a paltry target of 99 in 20.1 overs with wicketkeeper Naman Ojha (25) emerging the top scorer.

Earlier, West Zone collapsed to a meagre 98 in 29.1 overs, with Praveen Kumar, who was instrumental in team India's success in the recent Australian tour, bagging 3 for 18. He struck by dismissing the West Zone skipper Wasim Jaffer (8).

Later, he took a superb catch of Abhishek Nayar, who was well settled with 39.

Praveen Kumar was well supported by Piyush Chawla,who captured three wickets conceding 11 runs. Left arm spinner Murali Karthik, who is knocking at the doors of selection again for a comeback into the national team, claimed 2 for 20, while Rudra Pratap Singh captured one wicket.

Loosing the first two wickets at 15, West Zone further struggled at 39 for three. Nayar and Ajinkya Rahane added 41 runs for the sixth wicket.

For Central Zone, the openers Faiz Fazal and Naman Ozha contributed 41 runs before left hander Fazal was brilliantly caught by Jaffer of Siddharth Trivedi.

However, Ozha, joined by Suresh Raina (18) added 34 runs for the second wicket before Raina was caught by Ajit Agarkar of Trivedi.

With this win, Central Zone earned five points including one bonus point.

Brief Scores: West Zone: 98 in 29.1 overs (Abhishek Nayar 39, Praveen Kumar 3/18, Piyush Chawla 3/11, Murali Kartik 2/20), Central Zone: 99 for four wickets in 20.1 overs (Faiz Fazal 24, Naman Ojha 25, Ajit Agarkar 2/35, Siddharth Trivedi 2/41).


Write Comments