Bangla opt to bat in final ODI against SA

Published: Friday, March 14, 2008, 11:22 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Dhaka: Bangladesh captain Mohammad Ashraful won the toss and elected to bat in the third and final one-day international against South Africa at the Sher-e-Bangla stadium here on Friday.

South Africa, who have already sealed the series with an unassailable 2-0 lead, left out speedsters Andre Nel and Charl Langeveldt while bringing in Dale Steyn and Morne Morkel.

Bangladesh replaced paceman Syed Rasel with Farhad Reza in the only change from the side that lost the second one-dayer here by seven wickets.


Bangladesh: Mohammad Ashraful (capt), Tamim Iqbal, Nazimuddin, Shahriar Nafees, Shakib Al Hasan, Dhiman Ghosh (wk), Abdur Razzak, Mashrafe Mortaza, Mosharraf Hossain Rubel, Farhad Reza and Raqibul Hasan.

South Africa: Graeme Smith (capt), Hashim Amla, Johan Botha, A.B. de Villiers (wk), J.P. Duminy, Herschelle Gibbs, Paul Harris, Morne Morkel, Albie Morkel, Dale Steyn and Alviro Petersen.

Match Officials: Umpires: Aleem Dar (Pak) and Nadir Shah (Ban). TV Umpire: Akhtaruddin Shahin (Ban). Referee: Ranjan Madugalle (SL).


Write Comments