English county close the door on ICL players

Published: Friday, March 21, 2008, 3:35 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

London: Five overseas players, who featured in the Indian Cricket League T20 competition, have been denied registration to play English county cricket this season.

A statement from the England and Wales Cricket Board said applications for registration from Wavell Hinds (West Indies), Johannes van der Wath (South Africa), Andrew Hall (South Africa), Hamish Marshall (New Zealand) and Justin Kemp (South Africa) had been rejected.

The International Cricket Council (ICC) does not recognise the breakaway league (ICL), supporting instead the Indian Premier League (IPL) which starts on April 18.


Write Comments