Akhilesh, Vinay helps West Zone beat South

Published: Thursday, March 27, 2008, 3:35 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Bangalore: West Zone defeated South Zone by 26 runs in the Prof D B Deodhar cricket trophy here yesterday. Putting to bat first, West Zone piled up 272 in 49.5 overs, with a superb 90 by Abhishek Nair, including six fours and two huge sixes.

Vinay Kumar emerged successful with the ball claiming three wickets conceding 43 runs, while Kalyan Krishna, Gananeshwara Rao and left arm spinner P Pragtam Ojha bagged two wickets each.

In reply, the South Zone were all out for 246 in 49.1 overs.

S Badrinath with 64 was the top scorer.

Siddharth Trivedi, who was the pick of West Zone bowlers bagged three wickets conceding 38 runs. Test bowlers Munaf Patel and Ajit Agarkar claimed two wickets each conceding 33 and 46 runs, respectively.

Brief Scores:

West Zone: 272 all out in 49.5 overs (Parthiv Patel 29, Ajinkya Rahane 20, Rohit Sharma 33, Venugopal Rao 24, Abhishek Nair 90, Ajit Agarkar 24, R Vinay Kumar 3/43, Kalyan Krishna 2/64, Gnaneswar Rao 2/54 P Pragyam Ojha 2/43)

South Zone: 246 all out in 49.4 overs (S Badrinath 64, Dinesh Karthik 25, Arjun Yadav 39, Gnaneswar Rao 29, Munaf patel 2/33, Ajit Agarkar 2/46, Siddharth Trivedi 3/38).


Write Comments