ICL: Badshahs~~ reign continues, tame Tigers by 22 runs

Published: Saturday, March 29, 2008, 3:35 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Hyderabad: Lahore Badshahs kept their winning streak intact with a 22-run win over Kolkata Tigers in Edelweiss 20s Challenge tie at the Lal Bahadur Stadium here on Friday.

Badshahs', the only overseas team in the event, registered their sixth straight win. 

Hassan Raza was declared the Man of the Match for his fighting knock of 48.

The Badshahs opened their innings with two Imrans (Farhat and Nazir).  A great piece of fielding from Chandana saw Imran Nazir back in the pavilion to reduce Badshahs to 15/1.

The Badshahs managed to score only 26 runs in five overs besides losing the vital wicket of Nazir,  thanks to some fine bowling from Kiwi all-rounder Andre Adams whose three overs cost only nine runs.

The Tigers were sharp in the field, making the Badshahs earn their every run&that resulted in Shiv Sagar foxing the well-set Taufeeq Umar on 41, to put the Badshahs in a bit of a bother in the 14th over at 83/3.

The Badshahs were finally restricted by some fine work in the field from the Tigers at 153/4.

The Tigers had a shaky start when the brilliant Mahmood knocked Das back to the dugout without troubling the scorers. Mahmood and Sami ripped apart the Tigers top-order to reduce the Mithun Chakravarthy-owned Kolkata side to 10/3.

Lahore seamers Mahmood, Sami, Shahid Nazir bowled to a tidy line making the Kolkata batters struggle for runs. Tigers were precariously placed at 48/4 half-way through the innings. In the 13th over Arshad Khan consumed McMilan to leave Tigers reeling on 59/6.

Gavaskar junior ran out of overs in the end as the ask-62 runs off 24 balls with four wickets in hand-proved too tall an order in the end for Kolkata side who finally fell short of the target by 22 runs

Brief scores:

Lahore Badshahs 153/4 in 20 overs (Taufeeq Umar 41, Hasan Raza 48; Shiv Sagar 1 for 14) beat Kolkata Tigers 131/7 in 20 overs (Rohan Gavaskar 46, McMillan 30; Azhar Mahmood  2 for 25).


Write Comments