Vijay Hazare Trophy: Bengal, Saurashtra in last four

Published: Thursday, April 3, 2008, 3:35 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Vizag: Bengal and Saurashtra defeated Delhi and Karnataka respectively to book semis' berth in the All India one-day inter-state event for the Vizay Hazare Trophy here on Wednesday.

Bengal eased past Delhi by 48 runs at the Port Trust Jubilee Stadium here while Saurashtra annhiliated Karnataka with a seven-wicket win at the ACA/VDCA Stadium.

Bengal riding on Laxmi Ratan Shukla's blazing 124 posted a mammoth 295/5 in a rain-curtailed 47-over match. Shukla's 95-ball knock was studded with 16 hits to fence and two over it. The Bengal skipper shared a brisk 117-run stand for the fourth wicket with Amol Muzumdar (36). Sourashish Lahiri and D Das chipped in with useful 40s.

In reply, Delhi was all out for 247 in 43.4 overs. Virat Kohli scored 56 including a boundary and three sixes and S Dhawan scored 47 with nine boundaries. P Chawla scored 35.

Seamer S S Paul was the wrecker-in-chief for Bengal with 3 for 42. A Chowdhry and I Saxena claimed two wickets apiece.

At ACA-VDCA Stadium, Saurashtra put Karnataka in. Robin Uthappa (50 off 69, 3x4) and Manish Pandey (45 off 53 3x4&1x6) added revived Katk innings with 74 run stand for second wicket after they lost opener Bharat Chipli cheaply.

However Saurashtra, who had done exceptionally well to reach Ranji Trophy semis, contained Katk batsmen and eventually restricting 'em to 234/9 in the stipulated 50 overs. Skipper C Raghu (41 off 69b, 1x4) was the other major contributor for Katk.

For Saurashtra, B Jadeja was successful with three wickets for 68 runs while R V Dhruv bagged two for 31. 

In reply Saurashtra, the qualifiers from West Zone hunted down the target with 22 balls to spare and seven wickets in hand. J N Shah hit a hurricane 100 (80 balls, 10X4s, 5X6s) and opener C R Pathak crafted a fine 62 in 95 balls. Pujara remained unbeaten on 22. 

Shah"s century, comprising five sixes and 10 boundaries, ensured a seven-wicket win for Saurashtra.

In another match, Saurastra defeated Karnataka by seven wickets.

Winning the toss Saurastra elected to field.

Karnataka for the loss of nine wickets made 234 in 50 overs, with India ODI player Robin Uthappa's 50, with three fours. M Pandey scored 45, including three boundaries while C Raghu scored 41, with one boundary.

Brief Scores:

At Port Trust Stadium: Bengal 295/5 in 47 overs (Laxmi Ratan Shukla 124, D B Das 40 n o, Sourashish Lahiri 40, Amol Majumdar 36; Narender Pal Singh 3 for 55, Ashish Nehra 1 for 55) beat Delhi 247 all out in 43.4 overs (Virat Kohli 56, Shikhar Dhawan 47, Gambhir 31, Chawla 35; S S Paul 3 for 42, Sexena 2 for 41, A Chowdary 2 for 54).

At ACA-VDCA Stadium:  Karnataka 234/9 in 50 overs (Robin Uthappa 50, Manish Pandey 45, Raghu 41, Vinay Kumar 23; B N Jadeja 3 for 68, Rakesh Dhruv 2 for 31, Ravinder Jadeja 1 for 37) lost to Saurashtra 235/3 in 46.2 overs ( J N Shah 100, C R Pathak 62, S Jogiyani 38, Cheteshwar Pujara 22 n o; N C Aiyappa 1 for 29, Raghu 1 for 39).


Write Comments