India elect to bat in second South Africa Test

Published: Thursday, April 3, 2008, 10:47 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

India captain Anil Kumble elected to bat after winning the toss in the second Test against South Africa at the Sardar Patel Stadium here on Thursday.

India made one change from the side that drew the opening Test of the three-match series at Chennai on Sunday, with Irfan Pathan replacing injured batsman Sachin Tendulkar.

South Africa retained their team.

India head into the match with two spinners -- Kumble and Harbhajan Singh -- and three seamers -- Shanthakumaran Sreesanth, Rudra Pratap Singh and Pathan.

Ace leg-spinner Kumble, suffering from a groin strain, was declared fit in the morning.

The final Test starts in Kanpur on April 11.

India: Anil Kumble (capt), Virender Sehwag, Wasim Jaffer, Rahul Dravid, Venkatsai Laxman, Sourav Ganguly, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Irfan Pathan, Harbhajan Singh, Shanthakumaran Sreesanth, Rudra Pratap Singh.

South Africa: Graeme Smith (capt), Neil McKenzie, Jacques Kallis, Hashim Amla, AB de Villiers, Ashwell Prince, Mark Boucher, Paul Harris, Dale Steyn, Morne Morkel, Makhaya Ntini.

Umpires: Billy Doctrove (WIS) and Tony Hill (NZL)

TV umpire: Suresh Shastri (IND)

Match referee: Roshan Mahanama (SRI)

Read more about: elect, bat, africa
Write Comments