SAfrica elect to bat against Kumble-less India

Published: Friday, April 11, 2008, 10:27 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

South Africa captain Graeme Smith elected to bat after winning the toss in the third and final Test against India here on Friday.

South Africa lead 1-0 following their victory by an innings and 90 runs in the second Test in Ahmedabad. The opening match ended in a draw in Chennai.

India have suffered a setback with skipper and ace leg-spinner Anil Kumble ruled out of the match after failing to recover from a groin strain.

Wicket-keeper Mahendra Singh Dhoni leads the side for the first time in a Test.

The hosts made three changes from the side that lost the second Test, bringing in fit-again paceman Ishant Sharma, leg-spinner Piyush Chawla and middle-order batsman Yuvraj Singh.

South Africa retained the team.

South Africa: Graeme Smith (capt), Neil McKenzie, Hashim Amla, Jacques Kallis, AB de Villiers, Ashwell Prince, Mark Boucher, Paul Harris, Morne Morkel, Dale Steyn, Makhaya Ntini.

India: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (capt), Virender Sehwag, Wasim Jaffer, Rahul Dravid, Venkatsai Laxman, Sourav Ganguly, Yuvraj Singh, Harbhajan Singh, Shanthakumaran Sreesanth, Piyush Chawla, Ishant Sharma.

Umpires: Asad Rauf (PAK) and Billy Doctrove (WIS)

TV umpire: G.A. Pratapkumar (IND)

Match referee: Roshan Mahanama (SRI)



Read more about: safrica, elect, bat, kumbleless
Write Comments