ECB announces Ashes 2009 fixture

Published: Sunday, April 13, 2008, 3:35 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

London: The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) has today announced the schedule for the Ashes Test Series 2009.

The five-Test series starts in Cardiff on July 8 and moves to Lord"s, Edgbaston and Headingley Carnegie before the final Test at The Brit Oval from Aug 20.

“While it"s still more than a year away, the Ashes Series 2009 is already generating significant interest both here and in the UK," Cricket Australia CEO James Sutherland said.

“The 2005 series was a remarkable contest and the catalyst for huge growth in the game in Australia and the UK. I"m sure that the  Ashes 2009 will be another eagerly anticipated series."

The schedule for the seven-match one-day series which will follow the Ashes is expected to be confirmed by the end of April.

Schedule Ashes 2009: Ist Test July 8-12 at Cardiff; 2nd July 16-20 at Lord's St John's Wood; 3rd July 30-Aug 3 at Edgbaston; 4th Aug 7-11 at Headingley Carnegie; 5th Aug 20-24 at the Brit Oval.


Write Comments