Delhi DareDevils

Published: Friday, April 18, 2008, 18:23 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Owner:Bangalore-based GMR Group
CEO:Yogesh Shetty
Icon Player/Capt:Virender Sehwag
Coach:Greg Shipperd
Home Ground:Feroz Shah Kotla
Consultants:T A Sekar
Catchment Areas:Delhi (DDCA), UP (UPCA) and
Madhya Pradesh (MPCA).

Players thro' auction: Gautam Gambhir (Ind); Manoj Tiwary (Ind); Mohd Asif (Pak); Daniel Vettori (NZ); Dinesh Karthik (Ind); Shoaib Malik (Pak); Glenn McGrath (Aus); AB de Villiers (RSA); Tilakratne Dilshan (SL); Farveez Maharoof (SL); Brett Geeves (Aus).

U-22 Players: Pradeep Sangwan (Ind U-19); Mayank Tehlan (Del)

Players from catchment area: Rajat Bhatia (DDCA); Shiikhar Dhawan (DDCA); Mithun Manhas (DDCA).

DareDevils will certainly miss the local lad Ishant Lambu Sharma and Ashish Nehra in their ranks. However on paper Devils' look pretty balanced.

DareDevils' new-ball attack with the likes of McGrath, Asif looks strong on paper. The duo are tried, tested and trusted but however they are out of competitive cricket with the former having quit first class cricket and later had a start and stop career. It would be interesting to know how these bowlers fare. Medium pacer Maharoof, left-arm seamer Sangwan, left-arm spinner Vettori and offie Malik add variety to the bowling.

Devils' have depth in its batting line-up: Sehwag, Villiers, Dilshan, Dhawan, Manhas Geeves et al.

The best part of DareDevils' team is they don't have to rely on overseas players to deliver as they have enough of quality back-up players from their catchment areas: Ranji Champs - Delhi and R-up - UP

Delhi DareDevils play their first game against Jaipur-Rajasthan Royals on April 19 at Ferozeshah Kotla ground.

Virender Sehwag
Rs 3.33 crore
Matches : 14     Runs: 406
Gautam Gambhir
Rs 2.9 crore
Matches : 14     Runs: 534
Wickets : 3
Points* : 466
Value# : 71567
Wickets : 0
Points* : 534
Value# : 54307
Shikhar Dhawan
Rs 12 lakh
Matches : 14     Runs: 340
Rajat Bhatia
Rs 12 lakh
Matches : 9     Runs: 34
Farveez Maharoof
Rs 90 lakh
Matches : 10     Runs: 125
Glenn McGrath
Rs 1.4 crore
Matches : 14     Runs: 4
T Dilshan
Rs 1 crore
Matches : 7     Runs: 104
M Asif
Rs 2.6 crore
Matches : 8     Runs: 3
VY Mahesh
Rs 12 lakh
Matches : 11     Runs: 15
Pradeep Sangwaan
Rs 12 lakh
Matches : 7     Runs: 2
Dinesh Karthik
Rs 2.1 crore
Matches : 13     Runs: 145
Manoj Tiwari
Rs 2.7 crore
Matches : 9     Runs: 104

* - Total points are calculated by adding one point per run scored plus 20 points per wicket taken
# - The value is the rupees spent for evety point scored

Write Comments