Mumbai Indians

Published: Friday, April 18, 2008, 18:23 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Owner:Mukesh Ambani of RIL
CEO:R Balchandran
Icon Player/Capt:Sachin Tendulkar
Coach:Lalchand Rajput
Catchment Areas:Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA)
Maharashtra (MSCA) and
Baroda Cricket Association (BCA).

Players thro' auction: Sanath Jayasuriya (SL); Harbhajan (Ind); Shaun Pollock (RSA); Robin Uthappa (Ind); Lasith Malinga (SL); Loots Bosman (RSA); Dilhara Fernando (SL); Ashwell Prince (RSA).

U-22 Players: Ajinkya Rahane (Mum); Pinal Shah (Bar); Manish Pandey (Ind U-19); Saurabh Tiwary (Ind U-19); Pinal Shah (BCA)

Players from catchment area: Abhishek Nayar (MCA); Ajinkya Rahane (MCA); Yogesh Takwale (MSCA)

Mukesh Ambani owned-RIL coughed up a fat $111.9m to buy Mumbai IPL franchise-most expensive franchise in the league. The team logo has the Sudarshan Chakra with the team's name engraved in it. The team's colour will be blue.

Tendulkar, the 'icon' of Mumbai Indians is an obvious choice for captaincy. The Mumbai Indians have netted cricketers of the likes of Lankan swasbuckler Jayasuriya and SA all-rounder Shaun Pollock. Indians' have targetted the Lankan and SA stars in their overseas quota. Batting looks formidable with Tendulkar and Jayasuriya opening the innings followed by Uthappa, Bosman, Prince, Rahane... Pollock, Malinga, Fernando, Harbhajan make up the bowling dept.

The Mumbai Indians play their inaugural tie against Bangalore Royal Challengers at Mumbai on Apr 20.

S Tendulkar
Rs 4.5 crore
Matches : 7     Runs: 188
D J Bravo
Rs 20 lakh
Matches : 9     Runs: 178
Wickets : 0
Points* : 188
Value# : 239362
Wickets : 11
Points* : 398
Value# : 5025
DS Kulkarni
Rs 12 lakh
Matches : 10     Runs: 2
DR Smith
Rs 20 lakh
Matches : 4     Runs: 45
D Fernando
Rs 60 lakh
Matches : 5     Runs: 2
S Jayasuriya
Rs 3.9 crore
Matches : 14     Runs: 514
AM Nayar
Rs 12 lakh
Matches : 14     Runs: 206
A Nehra
Rs 20 lakh
Matches : 14     Runs: 3
DJ Thornely
Rs 20 lakh
Matches : 6     Runs: 39
S Pollock
Rs 2.2 crore
Matches : 13     Runs: 147
R Uthappa
Rs 3.2 crore
Matches : 14     Runs: 320
Harbhajan Singh
Rs 3.4 crore
Matches : 3     Runs: 30

* - Total points are calculated by adding one point per run scored plus 20 points per wicket taken
# - The value is the rupees spent for evety point scored

Write Comments