Chargers Vs Daredevils: A cracker in the offing

Published: Tuesday, April 22, 2008, 3:35 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Hyderabad: After succumbing to Knight Riders in their opening outing on a sub-standard wicket in Kolkata, fancied Deccan Chargers will be under pressure to prove their worth against Delhi Daredevils in their league tie of the Indian Premier League at the Rajiv Gandhi international stadium, Uppal here tonight.

With the arrival of overseas players boosting the line-ups the match offers a cracker of a contest.

Led by stylish batsman V V S Laxman, Deccan Chargers has a hoard of lusty hitters in their line-up like Adam Gilchrist and Andrew Symonds, South African opener Herschelle Gibbs, New Zealand all-rounder Scott Styris, Sri Lankans Chaminda Vaas and Nuwan Zoysa in its fold.

Pakistan's flamboyant all-rounder Shahid Afridi, who missed the first league outing at the Eden Gardens due to his commitment back home, is hoping to rewrite Brendon McCullum's record of 158 runs off 73 balls in his maiden IPL match morrow and improve the fortunes of the Hyderabad-based team in the crucial league tie.

Twenty-year-old Rohit Sharma, who has been part of the T20 World Cup winning side last year scoring an impressive average of 96 from the six Twenty20 games, will set his eyes on piling up bigger score for Deccan Chargers. The team also consists of Indian youngsters and seniors, including Pragyan Ojha, Dwaraka Ravi Teja, P Vijaykumar, D Kalyan Krishna, Halhadar Das, N Sarveesh Kumar, Arjun Yadav, Venugopal Rao and Sanjay Bangar.

Having scored a convincing nine-wicket win against Rajasthan Royals earlier, Virender Sehwag-led Delhi Daredevils are brimming with confidence to take on the 'charging bulls'.

Glenn McGrath will lead the pace attack for the visitors. Chargers also have a strong young pace battery in the shape of Bret Geeves, Lankan all-rounder Farveez Mahroof and Rajat Bhatia.

Daredevils' batting looks pretty solid with explosive Sehwag and consistant Gautam Gambhir opening the innings and will be followed by the young and attacking line-up Dhawan Tiwary, Karthik.

Delhi outfit have plenty of options in the pool of local talent like Mayank Tehlan, Amit Mishra, Vijay Kumar, Yo Mahesh, Mithun Manhas and Pradeep Sangwan.

Delhi Daredevils have so far earned two points from one win in their first league match, while Deccan Chargers are yet to open their tally.


Hyderabad: Adam Gilchrist (wk), Venugopal Rao, VVS Laxman (capt), Andrew Symonds, Rohit Sharma, Scott Styris, Shahid Afridi, Arjun Yadav, Sanjay Bangar, RP Singh, Pragyan Ojha, Haldhar Das (wk), Kalyan Krishna, P Vijaykumar and D Ravi Teja.

Delhi: Gautam Gambhir, Virender Sehwag (capt), Shikhar Dhawan, Shoaib Malik, Manoj Tiwary, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Rajat Bhatia, Mithun Manhas, Daniel Vettori, Farveez Maharoof, Glenn McGrath, Amit Mishra, Mayank Thilan, Pradeep Sangwan, Yo Mahesh and Vijay Kumar


Write Comments