IPL introduces 'Orange Cap' award

Published: Friday, April 25, 2008, 3:35 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Mumbai: The DLF Indian Premier League today announced the induction of the 'Orange Cap' initiative into the league.

The Orange Cap will be awarded to the batsman with the most cumulative runs to his name on each day of the season, and will be worn by that batsman in the field. The Orange Cap is traditional in style and will stand out from any other headgear in the tournament, a release said here today.

At the end of the season, the holder of the Orange Cap will win the honour of being called the 'Winner of Orange Cap 2008' and will receive recognition for his deeds with the willow on the occasion of the Grand Finals in the city.

New Zealand stumper Brendon McCullum of the Kolkata Knight Riders currently is the proud holder of the prestigious 'Orange Cap' as the highest cumulative runscorer in the League. This is due to his world record 158 scored against the Bangalore Royal Challengers at the inaugural game on April 18.

He is closely followed by Chennai Super Kings Michael Hussey, while captain of the Delhi Daredevils Virender Sehwag and Chennai Super Kings opening batsman Matthew Hayden are tied at number three.

Sehwag catapulted to third position through his exploits with the bat at Hyderabad, while Hayden scored a blistering 81 off 46 balls against the Mumbai Indians to achieve a joint third position in the 'Orange Cap' standings.

Lalit Modi, chairman and Commissioner of DLF Indian Premier League, said ''Cricket is often remembered and recorded as statistics and not by material distinctions. The DLF Indian Premier League will create a distinction for the best performing batsman, which will be cherished and valued by each player through this initiative. The purpose of this initiative is to be innovative, create another unique piece of history that sets the DLF Indian Premier League apart form the crowd, and to reward outstanding achievements by the players.''


Read more about: twenty20, t20, award, ipl, orange cap
Write Comments