Deccan Chargers elect to field against Mumbai

Published: Sunday, April 27, 2008, 3:35 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Mumbai: The V V S Laxman led Deccan Chargers won the toss against Mumbai Indians and elected to field in their fourth DLF Indian Premier League (IPL) match at the D Y Patil stadium in Nerul, near here today.

Mumbai Indians are without Harbhajan Singh who has been banned by the IPL Governing Council following his altercation with Kings XI player S Sreesanth wherein he allegedly slapped him after the match on Friday which the Mumbai Indians lost for their third consecutive loss.

With Sachin Tendulkar also not playing the match since he has not yet recovered from his groin injury, the mantle of captaincy has fallen on former South African captain Shaun Pollock.

For Mumbai Indians, this match is a must win encounter since they have not won any of their three matches so far.

Mumbai Indians made two changes bringing in Ajinkya Rahane and S Tipnis in place of S Trivedi and Harbhajan Singh.

For Deccan Chargers also this match is of vital importance as they are the other team in this league who have not yet notched up a win. They made one change bringing in Nuwan Zoysa for Chaminda Vaas.

The teams:

Mumbai Indians: Shaun Pollock (c), Sanath Jayasuriya, Luke Ronchi, Robin Uthappa, Dwayne Bravo, Ajinkya Rahane, Musavir Khote, Abhishek Nayar, Ashish Nehra, Siddharth Tipnis, Dhaval Kulkarni

Deccan Chargers: V V S Laxman (c), Adam Gilchrist, Andrew Symonds, Rohit Sharma, Sanjay Bangar, R P Singh, Arjun Yadav, Nuwan Zoysa, Shahid Afridi, Pragyan Ojha, D Kalyankrishna


Write Comments