Mumbai Indians invite Rajasthan Royals in to bat

Published: Wednesday, May 7, 2008, 3:35 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Mumbai: Mumbai Indians skipper Pollock won the toss and chose to bowl first in final league encounter of the phase one against Jaipur Rajasthan Royals at the D Y Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai on Wednesday.

Sachin Tendulkar still a non-starter for Indians. Both the sides have fielded an unchanged squads from their previous ties.

The dramatic turnaround in their fortunes notwithstanding, having beaten strong teams like Kolkata Knight Riders and Delhi Daredevils in their last two matches after four straight losses, Mumbai Indians will have a tough task in hand to stop the relentless march of Rajasthan Royals.

Inconsistant batting still remains Mumbai's major concern. Ace batters Jayasuriya and Uthappa have failed to convert the starts. They have their task cut out against a resourceful bowling attack led by Warne.

Jaipur outfit, the numero uno at half thro' the league stages, want to continue in same vein. Royals look a pretty balanced unit with likes of Watson, Smith, Pathan (Sr) and the young Ravindra Jadeja delivering the goods pretty consistantly with the willow and a solid bowling attack spearheaded by none other than the wily Warne and ably supported by Tanvir, Munaf and Watson.


Mumbai Indians: Yogesh Takawale (wk), Sanath Jayasuriya, Thornely, Robin Uthappa, Dwayne Bravo, Abishek Nayar, Shaun Pollock (capt), Saurabh Tiwary, R Raje, Ashish Nehra and Dhaval Kulkarni

Jaipur Rajasthan Royals: Graeme Smith, Swapnil Asnodkar, Yusuf Pathan, Shane Watson, Mohd Kaif, Ravindra Jadeja, Shane Warne (capt), Manoj Rawat (wk), Sohail Tanvir, Siddarth Trivedi and Munaf Patel.


Write Comments