Kolkata opts to bat in 16-over-a-side tie against Bangalore

Published: Thursday, May 8, 2008, 3:35 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Kolkata: Kolkata Knight Riders' skipper Sourav Ganguly won the toss and elected to bat in a 16-over-a-side IPL league tie against Bangalore Royal Challengers at the Eden Gardens on Thursday.

Unseasonal showers delayed the tie by over one and half hours.

Taibu, Kartik and Akash Chopra make it to the Kolkata playing eleven. Bangalore Challengers have drafted in J Arun Kumar in place of non performing asset Jacques Kallis while Boucher returns for Misbah.

Both the teams, languishing at the bottom of the points table, were left with must-win situation.


Bangalore Royal Challengers:  J Arunkumar Shivnaraine Chanderpaul, Virat Kohli, Rahul Dravid (capt), Mark Boucher (wk), Cameron White, R Vinay Kumar, Praveen Kumar, Zaheer Khan, Anil Kumble and Dale Steyn

Kolkata Knight Riders: Akash Chopra, Brad Hodge, Sourav Ganguly (capt), David Hussey, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Tatendu Taibu, Laxmiratan Shukla, Murali Kartik, Umar Gul, Ishant Sharma and Ashok Dinda.

Match Officials: Umpires: Asad Rauf and Ian Howell. Third umpire: Billy Doctrove. Match Ref: Farookh Engineer.



Write Comments