Bangalore Royal Challengers opt to bat in must-win tie

Published: Monday, May 12, 2008, 3:35 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Mohali: Bangalore Royal Challengers' skipper Rahul Dravid won the toss and elected to bat in their must-win tie against buoyant Mohali Kings XI at the PCA Stadium here on Monday.

With their backs to the wall, the Bangalore Royal Challengers find themselves in a do-or-die situation and only a win can keep them alive in the event.

On the other hand the young Mohali side which has thrived on the fine batsmanship from Shaun Marsh, Hopes, Pathan, Sarwan among others and good work from their seamers up front will aim to continue the good work and a win here will seal semis' claim.

Bangalore side have drafted Misbah into playing eleven in place of quiet Chanderpaul. Misbah will open with J Arun Kumar. Sarwan and Karan Goel will make way for Luke Pomersbach and Tanmay Srivastava for Mohali Kings XI.


Bangalore Royal Challengers: J Arunkumar, Virat Kohli, Mark Boucher (wk), Cameron White, Misbah, Rahul Dravid (capt), Praveen Kumar, Anil Kumble, Zaheer Khan, Dale Steyn and Vinay Kumar.

Mohali Kings XI: Shaun Marsh, James Hopes, Luke Pomersbach, Yuvraj Singh (capt), Mahela Jayawardene, Tanmay Srivastava, Irfan Pathan, Piyush Chawla, Uday Kaul (wk), Sreesanth and VRV Singh.

Match Officials: Umpires: Billy Doctrove and I Shivram. Third Umpire: Jasbir Singh. Match Ref: Clive Lloyd


Write Comments