Ganguly chooses to bat against Daredevils

Published: Tuesday, May 13, 2008, 3:35 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Kolkata: Kolkata Knight Riders skipper Sourav Ganguly won the toss and chose to bat first in their first IPL encounter against Delhi Daredevils at the Eden Gardens here on Tuesday.

Knight Riders have handed maverick express bowler Shoaib Akhtar his first IPL cap and also have drafted India U-19 left-arm spinner Iqbal Abdullah in place of Murali Kartik. Dinesh Kartik has made way for local lad Manoj Tiwary for Delhi. AB will don the wicketkeeping gloves.

Knight Riders jacked up its position to four in the with eight points from four wins. Delhi's slide continued from pole after three defeats and were now behind Kolkata on net run rate from four wins and as many defeats. Both the teams are competing for the final semis' berth and knows a win here can do a world of good for their cause.


Kolkata Knight Riders: Salman Butt, Aakash Chopra, Sourav Ganguly (capt), David Hussey, Tatenda Taibu, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Laxmi Ratan Shukla, Iqbal Abdulla, Shoaib Akhtar, Ishant Sharma and Ashok Dinda

Delhi Daredevils: Virender Sehwag (capt), Gautam Gambhir, Shikhar Dhawan, AB de Villiers, Manoj Tiwary, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Amit Mishra, Farveez Maharoof, Pradeep Sangwan, V Yomahesh and Glenn McGrath.


Write Comments