England elect to bowl in first Test against NZ at Lord~~s

Published: Thursday, May 15, 2008, 3:35 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

London: England skipper Michael Vaughan won the toss and elected to bowl in the first Test against New Zealand at Lord's on Thursday.

England ignored Hoggard yet again to retain the side who defeated the Kiwis in Napier this year to win the three-match series 2-1.

Batsmen Aaron Redmond and Daniel Flynn will make their Test debuts for Black Caps meant pacer Iain O'Brien will have to sit out.

Rain delayed the start of play by over two hours.


England: Alastair Cook, Andrew Strauss, Michael Vaughan (capt), Kevin Pietersen, Ian Bell, Paul Collingwood, Tim Ambrose (wk), Stuart Broad, Ryan Sidebottom, Monty Panesar and James Anderson.

New Zealand: Jamie How, Aaron Redmond, James Marshall, Ross Taylor, Brendon McCullum (wk), Daniel Flynn, Jacob Oram, Daniel Vettori (capt), Kyle Mills, Tim Southee and Chris Martin.

Umpires: Steve Bucknor (WI) and Simon Taufel (Aus). Third umpire: Nigel Llong (Eng). Match Ref: Ranjan Madugalle (SL).


Write Comments