England win toss and field against New Zealand

Published: Thursday, May 15, 2008, 16:51 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

England captain Michael Vaughan won the toss and elected to field in the rain-affected first Test against New Zealand at Lord's here Thursday.

England had announced on Wednesday they would stick with the same team that won the third Test against New Zealand in Napier in March by 121 runs and so completed a come-from-behind 2-1 series victory.

All-rounder Paul Collingwood kept his place, despite a recent recurrence of his right shoulder injury which last week required a cortisone injection.

However, Vaughan was due to drop down from opening the innings to No 3 in a straight swop with Andrew Strauss having finished the series in New Zealand with low average of just over 20.

Although Andrew Flintoff had recovered from the left ankle injury that had kept him out of Test cricket for over a year, a side strain meant the all-rounder was ruled out of the first two matches of this three-Test series.

New Zealand, in their first Test match without retired former captain Stephen Fleming, gave debuts to opener Aaron Redmond, whose father Rodney played one for Test in New Zealand in 1973, and batsman Daniel Flynn.

Daniel Vettori, the Black Caps captain, declared himself fit to play on Wednesday following an injury to his spinning finger which forced him to miss New Zealand's final two warm-up games.

Tim Southee won the battle for a place in the team with fellow pace bowler Iain O'Brien, who had been included in a 12-man squad.

Southee enjoyed a memorable Test debut in Napier, the 19-year-old taking five for 55 in the first innings and scoring an unbeaten 77, batting at No 10, as he delayed England's march to victory in the fourth innings.

Rain delayed the start of this match by 80 minutes, with play due to get underway at 12:20pm local time (1120GMT).


England: Alastair Cook, Andrew Strauss, Michael Vaughan (capt), Kevin Pietersen, Ian Bell, Paul Collingwood, Tim Ambrose (wkt), Stuart Broad, Ryan Sidebottom, Monty Panesar, James Anderson

New Zealand: Jamie How, Aaron Redmond, James Marshall, Ross Taylor, Brendon McCullum (wkt), Daniel Flynn, Jacob Oram, Daniel Vettori (capt), Tim Southee, Kyle Mills, Chris Martin

Umpires: Simon Taufel (AUS) and Steve Bucknor (WIS)

TV umpire: Nigel Llong (ENG)

Match referee: Ranjan Madugalle (SRI)

Read more about: england, toss, field, zealand
Write Comments