Australia win toss, elect to bat

Published: Thursday, May 22, 2008, 20:28 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Australia won the toss and chose to bat on the opening day in the opening Test against West Indies at Sabina Park on Thursday.

Off-spin bowler Amit Jaggernauth makes his debut and becomes the 270th player to wear the "Maroon Cap" for West Indies, and batsman Brad Hodge will make his first appearance for Australia to become the 400th player to wear the "Baggy Green".

West Indies: Ramnaresh Sarwan (capt), Devon Smith, Brenton Parchment, Runako Morton, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Dwayne Bravo, Denesh Ramdin, Darren Sammy, Jerome Taylor, Daren Powell, Fidel Edwards, Amit Jaggernauth

Australia: Ricky Ponting (capt), Phil Jaques, Simon Katich, Mike Hussey, Brad Hodge, Andrew Symonds, Brad Haddin, Brett Lee, Mitchell Johnson, Stuart Clark, Stuart MacGill

Umpires: Aleem Dar, Russell Tiffin, TV Replays: Norman Malcolm, Reserve: Clancy Mack

Match referee: Roshan Mahanama

Read more about: australia, toss, elect, bat
Write Comments