Mumbai Indians asked to bat first in their must-win tie

Published: Monday, May 26, 2008, 3:35 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Jaipur: Rajasthan Royals' skipper Shane Warne won the toss and chose to bowl in their penultimate IPL league tie against Mumbai Indians at the Sawai Man Singh Stadium here on Monday.

The local outfit have made four changes to their line-up fielded in the previous tie. Shane Watson, Niraj Patel, Siddarth Trivedi and Ravindra Jadeja make it to the playing eleven. Their in-form batsman Graeme Smith has been rested for this nothing-at-stake tie.

Mumbai Indians have handed a young attacking India Colts' batsman Manish Pandey a debut and brought in gloveman Yogesh Takawale and medium pacers Fernando and Rohan Raje.

It is a do-and-die situation for the Tendulkar-led Mumbai against the side that have nothing to lose. Mumbai, who is placed fifth with 12 points from 12 matches, would need victories in the remaining two ties, if they want to make it in the last four. If they lose one of their remaining two clashes then they will have to hope that Chennai Super Kings lose their final match against Deccan Chargers.

On the other hand Rajasthan Royals having sealed semis spot will aim to continue the winning momentum. The Jaipur outfit aim to set the record straight against Mumbai on home turf after having suffered a loss against Tendulkar-led Mumbai side in away league tie.


Mumbai Indians: Sachin Tendulkar (capt), Sanath Jayasuriya, Robin Uthappa, Manish Pandey, Dwayne Smith, Shaun Pollock, Abhishek Nayar, Yogesh Takawale (wk), Dilhara Fernando, Rohan Raje and Ashish Nehra.

Rajasthan Royals: Swapnil Asnodkar, Kamran Akmal (wk), Yusuf Pathan, Shane Watson, Ravindra Jadeja, Niraj Patel, Mohammad Kaif, Shane Warne (capt), Sohail Tanvir, Siddharth Trivedi, and Pankaj Singh.

Match Officials: Umpire: Billy Bowden and K Hariharan. Third umpire: S Shastri. Match Ref: Clive Lloyd.


Write Comments