Make or break time for Super Kings

Published: Tuesday, May 27, 2008, 3:35 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Hyderabad: The stakes are high for Chennai Super Kings who are in a must-win situation against lowly-placed Deccan Chargers in their last outing to assure themselves of a semi-final berth in the DLF Indian Premier League (IPL) match here today.

On the other hand, with nothing much to lose, the hosts will make all out effort to repeat their seven-wicket win at Chennai earlier, and break the jinx of losing all the matches in their home ground.

Ahead of the crucial do-or-die battle against the Chargers, Chennai Super Kings Coach Kepler Wessels told reporters that they were not taking the hosts lightly. Describing the chargers as a ''dangerous side with match-winning players'', he said the kings would focus on their strengths to win tomorrow's match, to be in contention for the semi-finals.

A defeat for the Kings tomorrow would end the Mahendra Singh Dhoni-led side's bid to make it to the last four stage.

The Super Kings had been on a winning spree in the initial phase but lost steam thereafter. They have 14 points with seven wins and six losses.

Deccan Chargers, who were bookies' favourite initially, have hard hitters like Adam Gilchrist, Herschelle Gibbs, Rohit Sharma and Venugopal Rao are at the bottom of the table with four points, winning two matches and losing 11. The Chennai team has a strong batting line-up which includes Dhoni, Suresh Raina, S Badrinath and Albie Morkel, Parthiv Patel and Stephen Fleming. But it has been failing of late in the slog overs.

The middle order too is caving in.

The Deccan Chargers' stand-in skipper Gilchrist, architect of the earlier win against the Chennai team and Herschelle Gibbs will try to repeat their good work with the bat.

Rohit Sharma, Venugopal Rao and Pakistan import Shahid Afridi too have the onus on them to score. The hosts' bowling atatck will be led by R P Singh and Lankan Chaminda Vaas and supported by the other medium pacer Sanjay Bangar, spinner Y Venugopal Rao and medium pacer Vijaykumar.


Deccan Chargers: Adam Gilchrist (Captain), Sanjay Bangar, Haldhar Das, H Gibbs, Scott Styris, D Kalyan Krishna, Pragyan Ojha, D Ravi Teja, PM Sarvesh Kumar, Shahid Afridi, Rohit Sharma, RP Singh, Chamara Silva, Chaminda Vaas, Y Venugopal Rao, P Vijay Kumar, Arjun Yadav, Nuwan Zoysa.

Chennai Super Kings: MS Dhoni (Captain), Viraj Vilas Kadbe, P Amarnath, S Anirudha, R Aswhin, S Badrinath, L Balaji, Stephen Fleming, Manpreet Gony, Shadab Jakati, Joginder Sharma, Chamara Kapugedera, Arun Karthik, Suresh Kumar, Albie Morkel, Abhinav Mukund, M Muralitharan, Makhaya Ntini, Parthiv Patel, Suresh Raina and S Vidyut.


Write Comments