Gilchrist chooses to bat against Chennai Super Kings

Published: Tuesday, May 27, 2008, 3:35 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Hyderabad: Deccan Chargers' skipper Adam Gilchrist won the toss and elected to bat in their final league tie of the inaugural IPL T20 event against the Chennai Super Kings at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Uppal here on Tuesday.

Chennai Kings have retained the line-up, which suffered a narrow 10-run defeat against Jaipur side, in their must-win tie. The local outfit have made four changes. Shahid Afridi, Scott Styris, Sarvesh Kumar and Pragyan Ojha while Chamara Silva, Chaminda Vaas and Sanjay Bangar left out. Rohit, the leading run-getter for Hyd sits out owing to injury

The equation for Chennai side is pretty simple: A win here would see Super Kings in the last four round at the expense of Mumbai Indians while a defeat would shift the race for semis' spot to Mumbai's final game against Bangalore. And if Mumbai wins that game than Chennai will miss the bus.

On the other hand the hosts with nothing-much-to-lose will make all out effort to repeat their seven-wicket win at Chennai earlier, and break the jinx of losing all the matches in their home ground.


Hyderabad Deccan Chargers: Adam Gilchrist (capt/wk), Herschelle Gibbs, Scott Styris, Venugopal Rao, Shahid Afridi, Arjun Yadav, Ravi Teja, Pragyan Ohja, Sarvesh Kumar, RP Singh and P Vijaykumar.

Chennai Super Kings: Parthiv Patel (wk), Stephen Fleming, Suresh Raina, Albie Morkel, MS Dhoni (capt), S Badrinath, Abhinav Mukund, Manpreet Gony, Laxmipathi Balaji, Muttiah Muralitharan and Makhaya Ntini.


Write Comments