Australia win toss, bat against West Indies

Published: Friday, May 30, 2008, 20:24 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Australia won the toss and chose to bat on the opening day of the second Test against West Indies on Friday at the Vivian Richards Cricket Ground.

For Australia, Michael Clarke has replaced Brad Hodge, and for West Indies, Xavier Marshall and Jerome Taylor have replaced Brenton Parchment and Amit Jaggernauth.

West Indies captain Chris Gayle has been ruled out of the Test because he has still not fully recovered from his groin injury.

Australia lead the three-Test series 1-0, after they completed a 95-run victory in the opening Test last Monday at Sabina Park in Kingston, Jamaica.

Australia have now won 13 of the last 14 Tests they have contested against West Indies and will seek to stamp their authority.

They hold the Frank Worrell Trophy - symbol of Test supremacy against West Indies - and they have not lost a Test series in the Caribbean since 1991.

The third and final Test between the two sides starts on June 12 at Kensington Oval in Barbados.


West Indies: Ramnaresh Sarwan (captain), Devon Smith, Xavier Marshall, Runako Morton, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Dwayne Bravo, Denesh Ramdin, Darren Sammy, Jerome Taylor, Daren Powell, Fidel Edwards.

Australia: Ricky Ponting (captain), Phil Jaques, Simon Katich, Mike Hussey, Michael Clarke, Andrew Symonds, Brad Haddin, Brett Lee, Mitchell Johnson, Stuart Clark, Stuart MacGill.

Umpires: Mark Benson, Russell Tiffin, TV Replays: Clancy Mack, Reserve: Norman Malcolm.

Match Referee: Roshan Mahanama.

Write Comments