Sehwag opts to bowl against Rajasthan Royals

Published: Friday, May 30, 2008, 3:35 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Mumbai: Delhi Daredevils skipper Shewag won the toss and elected to bowl in their Indian Premier League (IPL) 2008 semi-final clash against Jaipur Rajasthan Royals at the Wankhede Stadium here on Friday.

Seamer Mohd Asif returns to Delhi fold at the expense of Brett Geeves. Rajasthan Royals have recalled Smith, Asnodkar, Warne, Jadeja and Tanvir. Niraj Patel sits out.

The Royals finished first and Delhi sneaked thro' to the last four round after their rivals in today's all important clash snatched a last-ball victory against Mumbai Indians. Both the teams have won thier home ties when bthey faced each other and look evenly matched in all the departments.

The team that holds its nerves better and grabs the chances that come its way would go through to the summit clash.

The battle between McGrath and Rajasthan's explosive opening duo Graeme Smith (416 runs) and Swapnil Asnodkar could be crucial to the game's outcome.

The same applies to the Tanvir-Watson-Patel combine, who will be up against the marauding Delhi opening pair of Gautam Gambhir (523) and Sehwag (403), as well as another in-form batsman at number three, Shikhar Dhawan.

Rajasthan possess a better spin attack in the great Warne and his understudies Yousuf Pathan and Dinesh Salunkhe, while Delhi depends on Amit Mishra, for most part, with Sehwag chipping in with his off breaks. However, seam bowlers are expected to play a bigger role at the Wankhede.

Watch out: Pocket Dynamo: Asnodkar, Explosive batsmen: Sehwag, Yusuf Pathan, Probing: McGrath, Munaf, Teasing: Warne, Mishra and Run-machine: Smith and Gambhir.


Delhi Daredevils: Gautam Gambhir, Virender Sehwag (capt), Shikhar Dhawan, Manoj Tiwary, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Farveez Maharoof, Yomahesh, Amit Mishra, Mohammad Asif and Glenn McGrath.

Rajasthan Royals: Graeme Smith, Swapnil Asnodkar, Yusuf Pathan, Shane Watson, Niraj Patel, Ravindra Jadeja, Mahesh Rawat (wk), Shane Warne (capt), Sohail Tanvir, Siddharth Trivedi and Munaf Patel.


Write Comments