Rajasthan opt to bowl against Super Kings

Published: Sunday, June 1, 2008, 3:35 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Mumbai: Rajasthan Royals' skipper Shane Warne won the toss and elected to bowl in the IPL title clash against Chennai Super Kings at the D Y Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai on Sunday.

Royals have brought in Akmal in place of injured Smith and the compact left-handed batsman Neeraj Patel replaces gloveman Manoj Rawat.

Chennai outfit retained the squad that beat Mohali Kings XI in semis last night.

Rajasthan Royals and Chennai Super Kings slugged it out in a 8-team event for 44 days to remain in hunt for the whopping $1.2 million prize money and a glittering trophy decorated with gold, diamonds, rubies, sapphires et al.

Both these teams saw off their semis' opponents by huge margins, Jaipur routed Delhi by 105 runs while Chennai thrashed Mohali

with nine-wicket victory. And carry the confidence to the title clash.

Going by the records Rajasthan Royals seem to have a clear edge over their opponents but this is another day and a crunch game and Chennai would obviously come firing on all cylenders.

Raina, Gony, Ntini and skipper Dhoni hold key for Chennai Kings chances. Royals will bank upon their ace Watson, Asnodkar, Yusuf Pathan, Warne and Tanvir. Royals would certainly miss the services of their in-form opener Graeme Smith.

Watch out for the battle between Warne and Chennai southpaws-a hoard of them.


Rajasthan Royals: Kamran Akmal, Swapnil Asnodkar, Shane Watson, Mohammad Kaif, Yusuf Pathan, Neeraj Patel, Ravindra Jadeja Sohail Tanvir, Shane Warne (capt), Siddharth Trivedi and Munaf Patel.

Chennai Super Kings: Parthiv Patel (wk), S Vidyut, Suresh Raina, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (capt), Chamara Kapugedera, S Badrinath, Albie Morkel, Manpreet Gony, Laxmipathy Balaji, Muttiah Muralitharan and Makhaya Ntini.


Write Comments