Sehwag, Gambhir power India to 330

Published: Tuesday, June 10, 2008, 3:35 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Dhaka: Indian openers Gautam Gambhir and Virender Sehwag put on 155 runs for the first wicket to help India set a dauting target of 331 for Pakistan in their Kitply Cup tri-series match at Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Dhaka today.

Gambhir slammed 62 runs off 62 balls as Sehwag plundered 86 off 76. Yuvraj too chipped in with a 54-ball 55. Though Rohit Sharma and Yusuf Patha, who is making his ODI debut, failed make an impact, Dhoni (24) and Suresh Raina (26) made some invaluable contributions to take India to an imposing total. Irfan Pathan contributed with 18.

For Pakistan, Umar Gul scalped three for 61 in ten overs as Wahab Riaz bagged two wickets, but with a pathetic economy rate of 9.21. IPL hero Sohail Tanvir had to be satisfied with only one wicket.

Earlier, India skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni had won the toss and elected to bat.

India included two spinners in the shape of Yusuf Pathan and Piyush Chawla on a dark, hard and flat Mirpur wicket which is expected to assist slow bowlers. Robin Uthappa sits out.

Pakistan have retained the same line-up which recorded an emphatic 70-run victory in the series opener against Bangla.

With South West mansoon gathering the steady strength weather could well play a spoilsport here.

India will take on the hosts in the last league tie on Thursday. 


India: Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Yuvraj Singh, Rohit Sharma, MS Dhoni, Suresh Raina, Yusuf Pathan, Irfan Pathan, Piyush Chawla, Praveen Kumar and Ishant Sharma.
Pakistan: Salman Butt, Kamran Akmal, Younis Khan, Mohammad Yousuf, Shahid Afridi, Shoaib Malik, Misbah-ul-Haq, Sohail Tanvir, Umar Gul, Wahab Riaz and Iftikhar Anjum.


Write Comments