Bangla elect to bat in must-win tie

Published: Thursday, June 12, 2008, 3:35 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Dhaka: Bangla skipper Mohd Ashraful won the toss and elected to bat in their must-win tri-series tie against India at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur here on Thursday.

The hosts, who need to win with a massive margin of over 200 runs to stay alive in the event, have made one change to the line-up fielded in their previous tie against Pak. Right-arm medium pacer Farhad Reza replaces Shahdat Hossain. For India RP comes in at the expense of Ishant.

India overwhelmed Pak by 140 runs while Bangla lost to Pak in a rain-truncated opener by 70 runs.


India: Virendra Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Yuvraj Singh, Rohit Sharma, Yusuf Pathan, MS Dhoni, SK Raina, Irfan Pathan, Piyush Chawla, Praveen Kumar and RP Singh

Bangladesh: Tamim Iqbal, Shahriar Nafees, Mohd Ashraful, Raqibul Hasan, Alok Kapali, Mahmudullah, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Mashrafe Mortaza, Dolar Mahmud, Abdur Razzak and Farhad Reza.


Write Comments