Steyn named SA Cricketer of the Year

Published: Wednesday, June 18, 2008, 3:35 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Joburg: South Africa fast bowler Dale Steyn walked away with honours at the fifth South Africa Cricket Awards at the Sandton Convention Centre here on Tuesday night.

Steyn bagged all four awards for which he was nominated including the prestigious 'SA Cricketer of the Year'. He was also named 'Test Cricketer of the Year', 'SA Players' Player of the Year' and the 'SuperSport Fans" Cricketer of the Year'.

Steyn played 12 Tests last year and plucked as many as 78 wickets at 16.24. He got two ten-wicket match hauls in consecutive Tests against New Zealand and capped off the season with 15 wickets in three Tests in India.

The Proteas and Nashua Titans' right-arm express bowler follows an impressive list of previous winners of the coveted SA Cricketer of the Year award in Jacques Kallis (2004), Makhaya Ntini (2005 and 2006) and Shaun Pollock (2007).

The SA skipper Graeme Smith, who finished the season as No.1 batsman on ICC ODI Rankings, was named 'ODI Cricketer of the Year' and Albie Morkel clinched 'International Pro20 Cricketer of the Year' award.

In the domestic category  Charl Langeveldt of Cape Cobras' named Standard Bank Pro20 Cricketer of the Year and Monde Zondeki, the SuperSport Series Cricketer of the Year.

ICC Elite panel umpire Brian Jerling was named Umpire of the Year.

SA Awards (International):

Dale Steyn: Test Cricketer of the Year; SA Players" Player of the Year; SuperSport Fans Cricketer of the Year; SA Cricketer of the Year; Graeme Smith: ODI Cricketer of the Year; Albie Morkel:  International Pro20 Cricketer of the Year.


* SACA Most Valuable Player: Johann Louw (Nashua Dolphins);  MTN Domestic Championship Cricketer of the Year: Juan Theron (Chevrolet Warriors); Standard Bank Pro20 Cricketer of the Year: Charl Langeveldt (Nashua Cape Cobras); SuperSport Series Cricketer of the Year: Monde Zondeki (Nashua Cape Cobras); Domestic Newcomer of the Year: Roelof van der Merwe (Nashua Titans); Domestic Players" Player of the year: Dillon du Preez (Gestetner Diamond Eagles).


Write Comments