Pak elect to bat in Asia Cup opener against Hong Kong

Published: Tuesday, June 24, 2008, 3:35 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Karachi: Pakistan skipper Shoaib Malik won the toss and elected to bat in the Asia Cup opener against Hong Kong at the National Stadium here on Tuesday.

Pakistan weren't taking the game against Hong Kong- bachchas of cricket lightly is evident from the fact that they have fielded almost the same line-up as in Bangla tri-series.

Young wicketkeeper-batsman Sarfraz Ahmed comes in for regular Kamran Akmal who is being 'rested'. The hosts see this game as a practice match ahead of the actual contests against India and Lanka.

Hong Kong, on the other hand, aim to take home the experience of playing at big stage.


Pakistan: Shoaib Malik (capt), Salman Butt, Younis Khan, Mohammad Yousuf, Misbah-ul-Haq, Sarfraz Ahmed (wk), Shahid Afridi, Fawad Alam, Umar Gul, Sohail Tanvir and Rao Iftikhar

Hong Kong: Tabarak Dar (capt), Afzaal Haider, James Atkinson (wk), Hussain Butt, Irfan Ahmed, Courtney Kruger, Munir Dar, Nadeem Ahmed, Najeeb Amar, Skhawat Ali and Zain Abbas.

Match Officials: Umpires: Tony Hill and Brian Jerling. Third umpire: A M Saheba. Match Ref: Allan Hurst.


Write Comments