Pakistan win toss and elect to bat in Asia Cup

Published: Tuesday, June 24, 2008, 15:31 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Pakistan won the toss and decided to bat against Hong Kong in a Group B match at the National Stadium here on Tuesday.

India is the third team in the group. Defending champions Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and United Arab Emirates are placed in Group A, based in Lahore.

The top two teams from each Group will qualify for the Super League stages, where each side will play each other decide the July 6 finalists.

Pakistan: Shoaib Malik (captain), Salman Butt, Younus Khan, Mohammad Yousuf, Misbah-ul Haq, Shahid Afridi, Fawad Alam, Rao Iftikhar, Sarfraz Ahmed, Sohail Tanveer, Umar Gul

Hong Kong: Tabarak Dar (captain), Courtney Kruger, Afzaal Haider, Skhawat Ali, Irfan Ahmed, Butt Hussain, Nadeem Ahmed, Jamie Atkinson, Zain Abbas, Muneer Ahmed, Najeeb Amar

Umpires: Tony Hill (NZL), Brian Jerling (RSA)

Tv umpire: Amish Saheba (IND)

Match referee: Alan Hurst (AUS)

Read more about: pakistan, toss, elect, bat, asia, cup
Write Comments