Bangladesh win toss and field against SL

Published: Wednesday, June 25, 2008, 15:41 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Lahore: Bangladesh captain Mohammad Ashraful won the toss and sent Sri Lanka in to bat in their Asia Cup Group A match at Gaddafi Stadium here on Wednesday.

Bangladesh made no changes from the side that beat United Arab Emirates in their opening match here on Tuesday. Sri Lanka included spinners Muttiah Muralitharan and Ajantha Mendis in their eleven.

Hosts Pakistan, India and Hong Kong are in Group B and are playing their first round matches in Karachi.

The top two teams from each group will qualify for the Super League stages where every team plays other once to decide July 6 finalists.

Sri Lanka: Mahela Jayawardene (captain), Kumar Sangakkara, Sanath Jayasuriya, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Chamara Silva, Chamara Kapugedera, Chaminda Vaas, Dilhara Fernando, Muttiah Muralitharan, Ajantha Mendis, Nuwan Kulasekera

Bangladesh: Mohammad Ashraful (captain), Mashrafe Mortaza, Mahmudullah Riyad, Tamim Iqbal, Alok Kapali, Abdur Razzak, Nazimuddin, Raqibul Hasan, Shahadat Hossain, Mushfiqur Rahim, Dolar Mahmud

Umpires: Simon Taufel (AUS), Ian Gould (ENG)

Tv umpire: Zameer Haider (PAK)

Match referee: Mike Procter (RSA)

Write Comments