Asia Cup: India elect to bat against HK

Published: Wednesday, June 25, 2008, 15:54 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Karachi: India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni won the toss and decided to bat against Hong Kong in the Asia Cup Group B clash at the National Stadium here on Wednesday.

India, three-times champions, rested unfit allrounder Irfan Pathan and brought in Manpreet Gony for his one-day debut. Also rested are frontline paceman Ishant Sharma and batsman Yuvraj Singh.

Leg-spinner Piyush Chawla and Robin Uthaapa were also included.

Hong Kong, who lost to Pakistan by 155 runs in the opening match on Tuesday, replaced unfit Zain Abbas with Roy Lamsam.

Defending champions Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and the United Arab Emirates are in Group A, based in Lahore.

The top two teams from each group will qualify for the Super League stages where every team plays other once to decide July 6 finalists.


India: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Robin Uthappa, Rohit Sharma, Suresh Raina, Yusuf Pathan, Piyush Chawla, Manpreet Gony, Rudra Pratap Singh and Praveen Kumar

Hong Kong: Tabarak Dar (captain), Courtney Kruger, Skhawat Ali, Irfan Ahmed, Butt Hussain, Nadeem Ahmed, Munir Ahmed, Najeeb Amar, Afzaal Haider, Jamie Atkinson and Roy Lamsam

Match Officials: Umpires: Tony Hill (NZ), Brian Jerling (RSA)Tv umpire: Gamini Silva (SL)Match referee: Alan Hurst (Aus).


Write Comments