Asia Cup: Pak opt to bat against India

Published: Thursday, June 26, 2008, 3:35 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Karachi: Pakistan skipper Shoaib Malik won the toss and elected to bat in their final Group-B tie of the STAR Cricket Asia Cup 2008 against arch rivals India at the National Stadium here on Thursday.

The hosts fielded an unchanged squad. India made two changes with Yuvraj brought back at the expense of Robin Uthappa while seamer Ishant replaces Manpreet Gony.

India produced a clinical effort in their first group tie against HK. Top-order batters got runs and seamers and slow bowlers bowled exceptionally well.

In contrast, Pakistan did not have a great start but the hosts are not bothered by the hiccups they went through against the tournament underdogs and have declared that it is going to be a different story against the Indians.


India: Gautam Gambhir, Virender Sehwag, Rohit Sharma, Yuvraj Singh, Yusuf Pathan, MS Dhoni, Suresh Raina, Piyush Chawla, Praveen Kumar, RP Singh and Ishant Sharma.

Pakistan: Fawad Alam, Salman Butt, Younis Khan, Misbah-ul-Haq, Mohammad Yousuf, Shoaib Malik, Shahid Afridi, Sarfraz Ahmed (wk), Umar Gul, Sohail Tanvir and Iftikhar Anjum.

Match Officials: Umpires: Tony Hill and Brian Jerling. Third Umpire: Akhtaruddin. Ref: Allan Hurst.


Write Comments