Bangla elect to bat against India

Published: Saturday, June 28, 2008, 3:35 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Karachi: Bangladesh skipper Mohd Ashraful won the toss and elected to bat in the STAR Cricket Asia Cup 2008 Super League tie against India at the National Stadium here on Saturday.

India have rested their batting ace Sehwag, leggie Chawla and new-ball bowler Praveen. Attacking batsman Uthappa, left-arm spinner Ojha and seamer Gony were drafted in. Bangla have made a change to the squad fielded in their previous tie against Lanka. Bowling all-rounder Farhad Reza comes in at the expense of Dollar Mahmud.

India with clean slate in the Group stage will look to enhance their reputation with yet another clinical win.


India: Gautam Gambhir, Robin Uthappa, Rohit Sharma, Yuvraj Singh, Yusuf Pathan, MS Dhoni, Suresh Raina, Rudra Pratap Singh, Ishant Sharma, Pragyan Ojha and Manpreet Gony

Bangla: Tamim Iqbal, Nazimuddin, Mohd Ashraful, Raqibul Hasan, Alok Kapali, Mahmudullah, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mashrafe Mortaza, Abdur Razzak, Shahadat Hossain and Farhad Reza.

Match Officials: Umpires: Brian Jerling and Simon Taufel. Third Umpire: MG Silva. Referee: Allan Hurst.


Write Comments